( photo by Sasha Arutyunova )


( photo by Jacob Blumberg )

  Mike Brun is a musical polymath known for the wide range of his projects. His broad skill set and eagerness to collaborate has led to a kaleidoscopic young career – with work taking him all over, from Off-Broadway stages to dusty DIY spaces, from cozy coffeehouses to 10,000-seat arenas.

  Brun is heavily involved in theater, as a composer, arranger, orchestrator, and performer. He is Lead Composer of Folk Wandering, an American celebration of the untold grief that moves us forward. Folk Wandering has enjoyed sold out performances at such venues as Joe's Pub and Walkerspace at Soho Rep. Most recently, it was performed in the 2017 Polyphone Festival, a new musical festival put on by University of the Arts in Philadelphia. In early 2018, Folk Wandering will have an Off-Broadway production, put up by Pipeline Theatre Company. His musical Bull's Hollow is in development as a commission from Ars Nova via their Devised Theater Initiative and a grant from the Jerome Foundation. The Bull’s Hollow creative team was also part of the Civilians 2014 Research & Development Group.

For more about Brun's theater composing, visit the THEATER page.

Other theater credits include: music director/onstage musician for Mr. Burns (Playwrights Horizons, 2013); orchestrator and bandleader for Twelfth Night (Delacorte, 2016); co-arranger/onstage musician for Old Hats (Signature Theatre, 2016); and orchestrator for Monsoon Wedding (Berkeley Rep, 2017).

  Brun is a go-to sideman for multi-instrument versatility and thoughtful arrangement. Among many acts, he has played for Shaina Taub, Krystle Warren, Kate Davis, and Jacob Snider. A composer-crooner himself, Brun has established a brand of hypnotic, intelligent music all his own. He is an alum of the 2014 Johnny Mercer Foundation Songwriting Project. His album little blues is full of “harmonic warmth” and “lyrical intimacy” (Candid Music Group). His upcoming album there is no river strong as me is set to be released in October 2017.